Sowing the Seeds: The 10th Anniversary -- Appleseed Recordings
 : Sowing the Seeds: The 10th Anniversary -- Appleseed Recordings

variant image

from: Appleseed Records

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Price: $16.65
as of 01/19/2018 09:16 EST

This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0611587110220
Item Dimensions: 5047528550
Label: Appleseed Records
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Appleseed Records
MPN: 611587110220
Number Of Discs: 2
Number Of Items: 2
Publication Date: September 11, 2007
Publisher: Appleseed Records
Release Date: September 11, 2007
Studio: Appleseed Records

Disc 1:
  1. Oh Sacred World - Pete Seeger
  2. Ghost of Tom Joad - Pete Seeger & Bruce Springsteen (exclusive new track)
  3. Waist Deep in the Big Muddy - Ani DiFranco (exclusive new track)
  4. Universal Soldier - Donovan (exclusive new track)
  5. White Boots Marching in a Yellow Land - Eric Andersen & Wyclef Jean
  6. All My Children of the Sun - Tim Robbins
  7. The Bravest - Tom Paxton
  8. 19 Miles to Baghdad - Lizzie West & The White Buffalo
  9. Bring Them Home - Pete Seeger, Billy Bragg, Ani DiFranco, Steve Earle & Anne Hills
  10. Walking Down Death Row - Pete Seeger (exclusive new track)
  11. Guantanamera - Jackson Browne & Joan Baez
  12. Heartland Express - Sharon Katz & The Peace Train
  13. Indian Prayer - Tom Pacheco
  14. There Goes the Mountain - Tom Paxton & Anne Hills
  15. Sing About These Hard Times - Peggy Seeger
  16. If You Miss Me at the Back of the Bus - Kim and Reggie Harris, Peter Yarrow, Bethany & Rufus (exclusive new track)
  17. The Ross Perot (George Bush) Guide to Answering Embarrassing Questions - Pete Seeger with Tao Rodriguez-Seeger (exclusive new track)
  18. The Emperor is Naked Today-o - Pete Seeger (exclusive new track)
  19. Where Have All the Flowers Gone - Tommy Sands, Dolores Keane, Vedran Smailovic
Disc 2:
  1. Quite Early Morning - Pete Seeger (exclusive new track)
  2. Music of Healing - Tommy Sands & Pete Seeger with Vedran Smailovic
  3. There is Hope - Aoife Clancy
  4. Swimming to the Other Side - Pat Humphries
  5. Turn! Turn! Turn! - Bruce Cockburn
  6. Namaste - The Kennedys
  7. Gina in the Kings Road - Al Stewart
  8. Yin My Yang - Donovan
  9. Baby, It's You - John Stewart
  10. Leave Your Light On - Tim Eriksen
  11. Try Me One More Time - David Bromberg
  12. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right - Ramblin' Jack Elliott
  13. Dink's Song - Roger McGuinn with Pete Seeger & Josh White Jr.
  14. You Can't Relive the Past - Eric Andersen & Lou Reed
  15. Oh Had I a Golden Thread - Judy Collins
  16. Sail On - Dick Gaughan
  17. Somos El Barco (We Are the Boat) - Holly Near/Arlo Guthrie/Ronnie Gilbert/Pete Seeger (HARP)
  18. Pete gets the last word - Pete Seeger (exclusive new track)
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
A 2-CD set featuring 9 all-new tracks recorded specifically for this compilation by Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen (their first collaboration ever), Ani DiFranco, Donovan and four additional newly recorded songs by Seeger himself. The rest of the tracks are classics gleaned from Appleseed's 85-CD back catalog. 37 tracks in all! Artists include Pete Seeger, Bruce Springsteen, Ani DiFranco, Eric Anderson, Wyclef Jean, Tim Robbins, Tom Paxton, Lizzie West & the White Buffalo, Billy Bragg, Steve Earle and more.
From small seeds, the 10-year-old label has harvested an abundant orchard of folk music, as this anniversary anthology attests. With Pete Seeger providing the spoken-word invocation and benediction that frame the two-disc set, while serving as the collection's patron saint throughout, it mixes highlights from the Appleseed catalog with new tracks featuring fellow travelers Bruce Springsteen (in duet with Seeger on "Ghost of Tom Joad" and Ani DiFranco (on Seeger's "Waist Deep in the Big Muddy"). The music not only revives folk tradition but renews it, as the pairing of Eric Andersen with Lou Reed on "You Can't Relive the Past" sounds recognizably like the work of both. The compilers pay as much attention to sequencing as to selection of material, with the first disc more often demanding justice, while the second one offers hope. With a roster that now includes veterans such as Donovan and Tom Paxton as well as relative newcomers like the Kennedys and Lizzie West, the anthology traces the legacy of folk tradition while offering indications of where the music's going. Here's wishing for many happy returns (and future anthologies). --Don McLeese

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games