Appalachain Mountain Bluegrass - 30 Classics
 : Appalachain Mountain Bluegrass - 30 Classics

variant image

by: Various Artists, Bluegrass Music Sound Traditions, Mac Wiseman, Hylo Brown, Raymond Fairchild, J.E. Mainer, Don Reno

Binding: Audio CD
Brand: The Mountain
EAN: 0732351031722
Item Dimensions: 3850321561
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: RURAL RHYTHM
Model: 2141484
MPN: 1823338
Number Of Discs: 1
Number Of Items: 1
Publication Date: May 22, 2007
Release Date: February 06, 2017

Disc 1:
  1. Foggy Mountain Top - Earl Taylor
  2. Girl I Left In Sunny Tennessee - Jim Greer & The Mac-O-Chee Valley Folks
  3. Froggie Went a Courtin' - Hylo Brown & The Timberliners
  4. Cumberland Gap - The Cumberlands
  5. Black Mountain Blues - Mac Martin & The Dixie Travelers
  6. Home Across the Blue Ridge Mountains - Earl Taylor
  7. Poor Ellen Smith - Reno & Harrell
  8. Where the Soul Of Man Never Dies - Hylo Brown & The Timberliners
  9. Grandfather's Clock - Mac Wiseman
  10. Big Sandy - Red Smiley & The Bluegrass Cut-Ups
  11. Worried Man Blues - Earl Taylor
  12. Deep Elm Blues - Jim Greer & The Mac-O-Chee Valley Folks
  13. Wild Bill Jones - Hylo Brown & The Timberliners
  14. Rovin' Gambler - Mac Wiseman
  15. Soldier's Joy - The Cumberlands
  16. Darling Corey - Earl Taylor
  17. Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss - Red White & The Dixie Blue Grass Band
  18. When the Bees Are In the Hive - Jim Greer & The Mac-O-Chee Valley Folks
  19. Bread And Gravy - J.E. Mainer & The Mountaineers
  20. Run Boy Run - The Cumberlands
  21. Gathering Flowers From the Hillside - Earl Taylor
  22. Mole In the Ground - Hylo Brown & The Timberliners
  23. Long Journey Home - Reno & Harrell
  24. Rebel Soldier - The Cumberlands
  25. Fire On the Mountain - Fiddlin'DeWayne Wear & the Wear Family
  26. The Tie That Binds - Jim Greer & The Mac-O-Chee Valley Folks
  27. Rabbit In the Log - Frosty Mountain Boys
  28. All the Good Times Are Past And Gone - Hylo Brown & The Timberliners
  29. Just Over In Glory Land - Mac Wiseman
  30. Amazing Grace - Raymond Fairchild & The Maggie Valley Boys
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
30 Vintage Classics Preserved...Over 60 Minutes of Historic MOUNTAIN BLUEGRASS MUSIC!
Several Tracks Never-Before-Available On CD

Continuing with our successful SOUND TRADITIONS Series, Rural Rhythm is proud to release this special new 30 Song Heritage Collection title, APPALACHIAN MOUNTAIN BLUEGRASS 30 VINTAGE CLASSICS which contains over 60 minutes of Historic Bluegrass Music and debuts many classic recorded songs Never-Before-Available on CD.

Of late, Appalachia has been romanticized in movies, stories, and songs. Many songs like the ones on this collection are snapshots of life as it was lived in the most forgotten part of our nation. If folklorists had gone into the small towns, hill communities, and hollers throughout the southeast during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, we might understand how the music of the old and new worlds melted into one. We might understand how parlor songs and minstrel music made their way into isolated rural communities. We might see how black performers introduced the banjo and the blues to white performers. We might understand how the cadences and melodies and fervor of religious music slipped into secular music. Fiddle, banjo, and the occasional mandolin or guitar was what you would have heard. And songs like these.

If we could somehow set the time machine for a dark hollow in Appalachia on a Saturday night some hundred or two hundred years ago, we might see a group of neighbors getting together by the coal oil lamps. Someone might arrive with a fiddle, and we might even hear a few of these songs. And thanks to this CD and the others in the SOUND TRADITIONS series, future generations will be introduced to this music and hand it on to their children. So many of these songs are priceless snapshots of the way we were and deserve no less.

This new collection album contains 30 VINTAGE CLASSICS, (many lost but not forgotten through the years), including Foggy Mountain Top , Black Mountain Blues , Home Across The Blue Ridge Mountains , Cumberland Gap , Big Sandy , Girl I Left In Sunny Tennessee , Fire On The Mountain , Rabbit In The Log , Run Boy Run , Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss , and Amazing Grace , by some of the biggest Bluegrass stars during the heyday of Bluegrass Music including MAC WISEMAN, DON RENO, RED SMILEY, HYLO BROWN, EARL TAYLOR, JIM McCALL, MAC MARTIN, BILL HARRELL, RAYMOND FAIRCHILD, TATER TATE, J.E. MAINER, etc.

Each song was remastered from the original master tapes by Steve Hoffman, (a leading mastering engineer in the High End Audio market). The end results are some of the best sounding authentic Traditional Bluegrass music available today!

SOUND TRADITIONS: APPALACHIAN MOUNTAIN BLUEGRASS 30 VINGAGE CLASSICS, is a new HERITAGE COLLECTION on Rural Rhythm that takes the BEST OF song masters by BLUEGRASS LEGENDS that will be a must for listeners who cherish Traditional Bluegrass Music!

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games