The Great American Songbook Collection (4CD/DVD)
 : The Great American Songbook Collection (4CD/DVD)

variant image variant image variant image variant image

by: Rod Stewart

Availability: unknown

Price: $39.95
as of 02/20/2018 01:27 EST

This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Binding: Audio CD
Brand: Blue Moon
EAN: 0082876714922
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 80580901000
Label: Sony Legacy
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Sony Legacy
Model: 2195367
MPN: 828767149226
Number Of Discs: 5
Number Of Items: 4
Publication Date: November 15, 2005
Publisher: Sony Legacy
Release Date: November 15, 2005
Running Time: 207 minutes
Studio: Sony Legacy

Disc 1:
  1. You Go To My Head
  2. They Can't Take That Away From Me
  3. The Way You Look Tonight
  4. It Had To Be You
  5. That Old Feeling
  6. These Foolish Things
  7. The Very Thought Of You
  8. Moonglow
  9. I'll Be Seeing You
  10. Every Time We Say Goodbye
  11. The Nearness Of You
  12. For All We Know
  13. We'll Be Together Again
  14. That's All
Disc 2:
  1. Time After Time
  2. I'm In The Mood For Love
  3. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  4. Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered - Rod Stewart feat. Cher
  5. 'Till There Was You
  6. Until The Real Thing Comes Along
  7. Where Or When
  8. Smile
  9. My Heart Stood Still
  10. Someone To Watch Over Me
  11. As Time Goes By - Rod Stewart feat. Queen Latifah
  12. I Only Have Eyes For You
  13. Crazy She Calls Me
  14. Our Love Is Here To Stay
Disc 3:
  1. Embraceable You
  2. For Sentimental Reasons - Rod Stewart feat. Dave Koz
  3. Blue Moon - Rod Stewart feat. Eric Clapton
  4. What A Wonderful World - Rod Stewart feat. Stevie Wonder
  5. Stardust
  6. Manhattan - Rod Stewart feat. Bette Midler
  7. 'S Wonderful - Rod Stewart feat. Dave Grusin
  8. Isn't It Romantic
  9. I Can't Get Started
  10. But Not For Me
  11. A Kiss To Build A Dream On - Rod Stewart feat. Arturo Sandoval
  12. Baby, It's Cold Outside - Rod Stewart feat. Dolly Parton
  13. Night And Day
  14. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
Disc 4:
  1. I've Got A Crush On You - Rod Stewart feat. Diana Ross
  2. I Wish You Love - Rod Stewart feat. Chris Botti
  3. You Send Me - Rod Stewart feat. Chaka Khan
  4. Long Ago And Far Away
  5. Makin' Whoopee - Rod Stewart feat. Elton John
  6. My One And Only Love
  7. Taking A Chance On Love
  8. My Funny Valentine
  9. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
  10. Nevertheless - Rod Stewart feat. Dave Koz
  11. Blue Skies
  12. Let's Fall In Love - Rod Stewart feat. George Benson
  13. Thanks For The Memory
Disc 5:
  1. They Can't Take That Away From Me
  2. Blue Moon
  3. First Cut Is The Deepest
  4. What A Wonderful World
  5. Time After Time
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
The Great American Songbook Collection contains all four volumes of Rod's groundbreaking series plus a bonus DVD of live recordings and the music videos for 'These Foolish Things' and 'Time After Time'. J Records. 2005.
Often as people age, they grow more interested in ancestry. Rod Stewart's musical family tree certainly includes the great crooners of the past--those who took the pop songs included in his Great American Songbook series and turned them into standards. It's fitting, that he should find a late middle-age career revival by paying homage to the music that paved the way for rock clubs, discothèques, and screaming groupies the world over. Stewart's series has only grown stronger since it debuted with It Had to Be You. Most vocalists could spend sleepless nights trying to figure out how to make "Until the Real Thing Comes Along" their own. It's no problem for Rod. His jetsetter barring coupled with that unmistakable, husky voice is more than enough for him to leave his own stamp on the songs. And with the addition of guest stars from Cher to Chaka Kahn, well, there's a little something for everyone… especially those who remember when "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy" was haunting the charts. For fans who sampled and loved a portion of this collection, the box set is a handsome addition to their library. It contains not only the four American Songbook CDs, but a DVD sampler of concert footage. (The set says "Big Band Era." The saxophonist in the mini skirt says it's a Rod Stewart show.) There's also a booklet of glamour shots featuring Rod and one or more leggy blondes, and notes on Stewart's musical career. Rod doesn’t quite convey the ease performing these tunes on stage that he does on the CDs, and the bio is far from unbiased, but who can help but love this music? Especially for sentimental reasons. --Leah Weathersby

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games