Complete Verve Studio Master Takes [6 CD Box Set]
 : Complete Verve Studio Master Takes [6 CD Box Set]

variant image

by: Billie Holiday

Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0602498803028
Edition: Rmst ed.
Format: Box set, Original recording remastered
Item Dimensions: 213606124539
Label: Verve
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Verve
Number Of Discs: 6
Number Of Items: 6
Publication Date: December 13, 2005
Publisher: Verve
Release Date: December 13, 2005
Studio: Verve

Disc 1:
  1. East of the Sun
  2. Blue Moon
  3. You Go to My Head
  4. You Turned the Tables on Me
  5. Easy to Love
  6. These Foolish Things
  7. I Only Have Eyes for You
  8. Solitude
  9. Everything I Have Is Yours
  10. Love for Sale
  11. Moonglow
  12. Tenderly
  13. If the Moon Turns Green
  14. Remember
  15. Autumn in New York
  16. My Man
  17. Lover, Come Back to Me
  18. Stormy Weather
  19. Yesterdays
  20. He's Funny That Way
  21. I Can't Face the Music
Disc 2:
  1. How Deep Is the Ocean?
  2. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  3. I Cried for You
  4. Love Me or Leave Me
  5. P.S. I Love You
  6. Too Marvelous for Words
  7. Softly
  8. I Thought About You
  9. Willow Weep for Me
  10. Stormy Blues
  11. Say It Isn't So
  12. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  13. I Wished on the Moon
  14. Always
  15. Everything Happens to Me
  16. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  17. Ain't Misbehavin'
Disc 3:
  1. I Don't Want to Cry Anymore
  2. Prelude to a Kiss
  3. I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You
  4. When Your Lover Has Gone
  5. Gone with the Wind
  6. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  7. It Had to Be You
  8. Nice Work If You Can Get It
  9. Come Rain or Come Shine
  10. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
  11. What's New?
  12. A Fine Romance
  13. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  14. I Get a Kick Out of You
  15. Everything I Have Is Yours
  16. Isn't This a Lovely Day?
Disc 4:
  1. Trav'lin' Light
  2. I Must Have That Man!
  3. Some Other Spring
  4. Lady Sings the Blues
  5. Strange Fruit
  6. God Bless the Child
  7. Good Morning Heartache
  8. No Good Man
  9. Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me
  10. Cheek to Cheek
  11. Ill Wind
  12. Speak Low
  13. We'll Be Together Again
  14. All or Nothing at All
  15. Sophisticated Lady
  16. April in Paris
Disc 5:
  1. I Wished the Moon
  2. Moonlight in Vermont
  3. A Foggy Day
  4. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  5. Just One of Those Things
  6. Comes Love
  7. Day in, Day Out
  8. Darn That Dream
  9. But Not for Me
  10. Body and Soul
  11. Stars Fell on Alabama
  12. Say It Isn't So
  13. Love Is Here to Stay
  14. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
Disc 6:
  1. They Can't Take That Away from Me
  2. Embraceable You
  3. Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
  4. Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good to You?
  5. All the Way
  6. It's Not for Me to Say
  7. I'll Never Smile Again
  8. Just One More Chance
  9. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  10. Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  11. Sometimes I'm Happy
  12. You Took Advantage of Me
  13. There'll Be Some Changes Made
  14. 'Deed I Do
  15. All of You
  16. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home?
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
All 100 studio sides Lady Day recorded for Verve on one 6-CD set! Billie's '50s recordings for Verve returned her to her beloved small-group format, with the almost telepathic support of such musicians as Ben Webster, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Charlie Shavers, Benny Carter, Oscar Peterson, Ray Brown and Barney Kessel. This historic material is presented here with a new, 96 kHz/24-bit digital transfer and with a 56-page book containing many rare photographs. A jazz vocal must!
The final decade of Billie Holiday's life was one in which the singer, in the clutches of drugs and poor taste in men, slowly withered away. Amid this tragedy, Lady Day carried on with a bittersweet dignity that seemed only to grow as the years passed. Her matchless phrasing added a profundity to a worn-out lyric and her dark, ragged timbre exuded a venerable wisdom, but at the same time she acquired a faded vulnerability not heard in her earlier years. Collecting her studio work between 1952 and 1959 (when she died), this six-CD/100-song set offers a long and loving look at the Holiday of this era. She's joined here by the crème of jazz with an orchestra session at the end. And whereas The Complete Billie Holiday on Verve, 1945-1959 also offers uneven rehearsal tapes as well as live and radio performances, this collection zeroes in on prime studio cuts. This is for lovers of Lady Day, but not the obsessive. --Tad Hendrickson

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games