The Carter Family: 1927-1934
 : The Carter Family: 1927-1934

variant image

by: The Carter Family

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Price: $20.75
as of 01/20/2018 06:35 EST

This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0788065770129
Format: Box set, Original recording remastered
Item Dimensions: 225500104575
Label: Jsp Records
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Jsp Records
Model: 2166259
MPN: 1848113
Number Of Discs: 5
Number Of Items: 5
Publication Date: April 30, 2002
Publisher: Jsp Records
Release Date: April 30, 2002
Studio: Jsp Records

Disc 1:
  1. Bury Me Under The Weeping Willow
  2. Little Log Cabin By The Sea
  3. The Poor Orphan Child
  4. The Storms Are On The Ocean
  5. Single Girl, Married Girl
  6. The Wandering Boy
  7. Meet Me By The Moonlight, Alone
  8. Little Darling, Pal Of Mine
  9. Keep On The Sunny Side
  10. Anchored In Love
  11. John Hardy Was A Desperate Little Man
  12. I Ain't Goin' To Work Tomorrow
  13. Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone
  14. River Of Jordan
  15. Chewing Gum
  16. Wildwood Flower
  17. I Have No-One To Love Me (But The Sailor On The Deep Blue Sea)
  18. Forsaken Love
  19. Sweet Fern
  20. My Clinch Mountain Home
  21. God Gave Noah The Rainbow Sign
  22. I'm Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes
  23. Little Moses
  24. Lulu Wall
  25. The Grave On The Green Hillside
Disc 2:
  1. Don't Forget This Song
  2. The Foggy Mountain Top
  3. Bring Back My Blue-Eyed Boy To Me
  4. Diamonds In The Rough
  5. Engine One-Forty-Three
  6. The Homestead On The Farm
  7. The Cyclone Of Rye Cove
  8. Motherless Children
  9. When The Roses Bloom In Dixieland
  10. No Telephone In Heaven
  11. Western Hobo
  12. Carter's Blues
  13. Wabash Cannonball
  14. A Distant Land To Roam
  15. Jimmie Brown The Newsboy
  16. Kitty Waltz
  17. Fond Affection
  18. The Cannonball
  19. The Lover's Farewell
  20. There's Someone Awaiting For Me
  21. The Little Log Hut In The Lane
  22. When The Springtime Comes Again
  23. When The World's On Fire
  24. I Have An Aged Mother
  25. Dying Soldier
  26. Worried Man Blues
Disc 3:
  1. Lonesome Valley
  2. On The Rock Where Moses Stood
  3. Room In Heaven For Me
  4. Lonesome Pine Special
  5. No More The Moon Shines On Lorena
  6. On My Way To Canaan's Land
  7. Where Shall I Be?
  8. Sow 'Em On The Mountain
  9. Darling Nellie Across The Sea
  10. The Birds Were Singing Of You
  11. Weary Prodigal Son
  12. My Old Cottage Home
  13. When I'm Gone
  14. Sunshine In The Mountain
  15. Let The Church Roll On
  16. Lonesome For You
  17. Can't Feel At Home
  18. Why There's A Tear In My Eye
  19. The Wonderful City
  20. Jimmie Rodgers Visits The Carter Family
  21. The Carter Family And Jimmie Rodgers In Texas
  22. 'Mid The Green Fields Of Virginia
  23. Happiest Days Of All
  24. Picture On The Wall
  25. Amber Tresses
Disc 4:
  1. I Never Loved But One
  2. Tell Me That You Love Me
  3. Where We'll Never Grow Old
  4. We Will March Through The Streets Of The City
  5. Sweet As The Flowers In Maytime
  6. Will The Roses Bloom In Heaven
  7. My Little Home In Tennessee
  8. The Sun Of The Soul
  9. If One Won't, Another One Will
  10. Broken Hearted Love
  11. Two Sweethearts
  12. The Winding Stream
  13. I Wouldn't Mind Dying
  14. The Spirit Of Love Watches Over Me
  15. The Church In The Wildwood
  16. Give Me Roses While I Live
  17. I Will Never Marry
  18. On The Sea Of Galilee
  19. Home By The Sea
  20. I Loved You Better Than You Knew
  21. This Is Like Heaven To Me
  22. See That My Grave Is Kept Green
  23. Over The Garden Wall
  24. Gold Watch And Chain
  25. Will My Mother Know Me There?
Disc 5:
  1. On A Hill Lone And Gray
  2. Cowboy Jack
  3. I'll Be All Smiles Tonight
  4. Away Out On The Old Saint Sabbath
  5. Happy Or Lonesome
  6. One Little Word
  7. Darling Daisies
  8. The East Virginia Blues
  9. Lovers Return
  10. It'll Aggravate Your Soul
  11. Hello Central! Give Me Heaven
  12. I'm Working On A Building
  13. You've Been Fooling Me, Baby
  14. Longing For Old Virginia
  15. March Winds Goin' To Blow My Blues All Away
  16. There'll Be Joy, Joy, Joy
  17. Are You Tired Of Me, My Darling
  18. My Heart's Tonight In Texas
  19. There's No Hiding Place Down Here
  20. Cowboy's Wild Song To His Herd
  21. The Evening Bells Are Ringing
  22. The Mountains Of Tennessee
  23. I'll Be Home Some Day
  24. Faded Coat Of Blue
  25. Sailor Boy
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
A foundation stone of the popular music of the twentieth century. Moving, fascinating and enjoyable!

It's not too much to say that in the late '20s the trio of A.P. Delaney Carter, his wife Sara, and his sister-in-law Maybelle changed the course of country - and popular - music. They did it with haunting harmonies, fine guitar playing and a vast repertoire of murder ballads, gospel tunes, love songs, and Appalachian folk melodies which would be covered by musicians for decades. And this wasn't just the often derided ''hillbilly'' music; this was something timeless, that defies definition and which still resonates. Our five-CD collection is the most complete collection of their early output - from the initial 1927 Bristol ''Big Bang'' sessions to their depression-era recordings. Even today, Sara Carter's voice sounds aching, yet empowered. Whether they're yodeling through The Foggy Mountain Top, singing a feminist anthem like Single Girl, Married Girl, or harmonizing with Maybelle on Worried Man Blues, you can hear the Carters' huge influence on country music. A must-have.
Their setup was primitive enough--guitar, Autoharp, and vocals--but in the late '20s the trio of A.P. Delaney Carter, his wife Sara, and his sister-in-law Maybelle would change (chart?) the course of country music forever. They did it with haunting harmonies, incredible guitar playing (thanks to Maybelle's driving strums on her Gibson L-5 guitar), and a vast repertoire that included murder ballads, gospel tunes, love songs, and Appalachian folk tunes--many of which would be covered by musicians for decades to come. Unlike their musical peers in the late '20s and early '30s, the Carters weren't just playing "hillbilly" music; this was, quite simply, country music, and their timeless output still resonates with listeners today. JSP's bargain-priced, five-CD collection is easily the most complete, essential collection of their music available, capturing and remastering their RCA Victor recordings (their later, less-seminal sessions for Decca and the American Record Company are not included). Hearing five CDs' worth of music from the Carter Family is almost sensory overload--from the initial 1927 Bristol sessions, which Johnny Cash hailed as "the single most important event in the history of country music," to their depression-era recordings. Even today, Sara Carter's voice sounds aching, yet empowered. Whether they're yodeling through "The Foggy Mountain Top," singing a feminist anthem like "Single Girl, Married Girl," or harmonizing with Maybelle on "Worried Man Blues," you can hear the Carters' profound influence on country music. A must-have. --Jason Verlinde

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games