The Man Who Invented Soul
 : The Man Who Invented Soul

variant image

by: Sam Cooke

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0078636791128
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 80560851000
Label: Sony Legacy
Languages: EnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Sony Legacy
Number Of Discs: 4
Number Of Items: 4
Publication Date: September 26, 2000
Publisher: Sony Legacy
Release Date: September 26, 2000
Running Time: 270 minutes
Studio: Sony Legacy

Disc 1:
  1. You Send Me
  2. Summertime (Pt. 1)
  3. For Sentimental Reasons
  4. Desire Me
  5. Lonely Island
  6. You Were Made For Me
  7. Win Your Love For Me
  8. Love You Most Of All
  9. Everybody Loves To Cha Cha Cha
  10. No One Can Take Your Place
  11. Only Sixteen
  12. With You
  13. Crazy She Calls Me
  14. I Got A Right To Sing The Blues
  15. Comes Love
  16. Ain't Nobody's Business
  17. Little Things You Do
  18. There, I've Said It Again
  19. When I Fall In Love
  20. Let's Go Steady Again
  21. (What A) Wonderful World
Disc 2:
  1. Chain Gang
  2. I Belong To Your Heart
  3. Teenage Sonata
  4. Love Me
  5. Sad Mood (Unreleased Version)
  6. If I Had You (I'd Be Happy)
  7. You Belong o Me
  8. Sad Mood
  9. Tenderness
  10. That's It - I Quit - I'm Movin' On
  11. Hold On
  12. Cupid
  13. Tenderness (Unreleased Version)
  14. Don't Get Around Much Any More
  15. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  16. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  17. Trouble In Mind
  18. Out In The Cold Again
  19. Exactly Like You
  20. Since I Met You Baby
  21. I'm Just a Lucky So and So
  22. But Not For Me
  23. You're Always On My Mind
  24. (Don't Fight It) Feel It
  25. It's All Right
  26. Twistin' the Night Away
  27. One More Time
  28. Don't Cry On My Shoulder
Disc 3:
  1. Somebody's Gonna Miss Me
  2. Somebody Have Mercy
  3. Sugar Dumpling (Original Version)
  4. Nothin' Can Change This Love (Unreleased Version)
  5. Talkin' Trash
  6. Movin' and Groovin'
  7. Soothe Me
  8. Having a Party
  9. Bring It On Home to Me
  10. A Whole Lotta Woman
  11. I'm Gonna Forget About You
  12. Nothin' Can Change This Love
  13. Baby, Baby, Baby
  14. Send Me Some Lovin'
  15. All the Way
  16. Smoke Rings
  17. I Wish You Love
  18. Driftin' Blues
  19. Little Girl
  20. Cry Me A River
  21. These Foolish Things
  22. Frankie And Johnnie
  23. I Ain't Gonna Cheat On You No More
  24. Another Saturday Night (Alternate Take)
  25. Love Will Find A Way
  26. Cool Train (First Stereo Release)
Disc 4:
  1. Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
  2. Lost and Lookin'
  3. Mean Old World
  4. Please Don't Drive Me Away
  5. I Lost Everything
  6. Get Yourself Another Fool
  7. Little Red Rooster
  8. Laughin' and Clownin'
  9. Trouble Blues
  10. You Gotta Move
  11. Fool's Paradise
  12. Shake, Rattle And Roll
  13. Intro/(Don't Fight It)Feel It
  14. Chain Gang
  15. Cupid
  16. It's All Right/For Sentimental Reasons
  17. Twistin' The Night Away
  18. Somebody Have Mercy
  19. Bring It On Home To Me
  20. Nothin' Can Change This Love
  21. Having A Party
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
No Description Available
No Track Information Available
Media Type: CD
Street Release Date: 09/26/2000
Sam Cooke had a voice like clover honey, and he was as ingenious a businessman as he was an artist--carefully treading the line between smooth pop and deep R&B to bring both audiences to him, as well as together. Disc 1 of this set compiles his 1957-1959 recordings for the Keen label, which had tamed the former gospel tiger into a sweet, wry songwriter with a taste for crooning standards and a signature yodel that marked every song as his property. The second and third discs do the same for his RCA career's singles and album tracks, which, for all their orchestrated slickness, left an indelible mark on soul and even rock (compare "That's It, I Quit, I'm Movin' On" to Elvis Costello's "Blame It On Cain"!). Lastly, there's a disc with two complete albums from Cooke's stylistic poles: Night Beat (after-hours cool soul) and Live at the Harlem Square Club (Cooke as hard-hollering crowd mover). As a survey of the middle period of Cooke's career, this set is totally solid; be advised, though, that it skips over both his early years shouting gospel with the Soul Stirrers and the classic recordings from the last year or so of his life--which include hits such as "Shake" and "A Change Is Gonna Come" that are still, flabbergastingly, out of print. --Douglas Wolk

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games