At The Close Of A Century [4 CD Box Set]
 : At The Close Of A Century [4 CD Box Set]

variant image variant image

by: Stevie Wonder

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Price: $42.99
as of 12/17/2017 11:16 EST

This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0295184681026
Format: Box set, Original recording remastered
Item Dimensions: 12552588575
Label: Motown Records
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Motown Records
Number Of Discs: 4
Number Of Items: 4
Publication Date: November 23, 1999
Publisher: Motown Records
Release Date: November 23, 1999
Studio: Motown Records

Disc 1:
  1. Fingertips Pts. 1 & 2 - Stevie Wonder
  2. Uptight (Everything's Alright) - Stevie Wonder
  3. Nothing's Too Good For My Baby - Stevie Wonder
  4. Blowin' In the Wind - Stevie Wonder
  5. A Place In The Sun - Stevie Wonder
  6. Hey Love - Stevie Wonder
  7. I Was Made To Love Her - Stevie Wonder
  8. Until You Come Back To Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do) - Stevie Wonder
  9. I'm Wondering - Stevie Wonder
  10. Shoo-Be-Doo-Be-Doo-Da-Day - Stevie Wonder
  11. You Met Your Match - Stevie Wonder
  12. For Once In My Life - Stevie Wonder
  13. I Don't Know Why - Stevie Wonder
  14. My Cherie Amour - Stevie Wonder
  15. Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday - Stevie Wonder
  16. Never Had A Dream Come True - Stevie Wonder
  17. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours - Stevie Wonder
  18. Heaven Help Us All - Stevie Wonder
  19. We Can Work It Out - Stevie Wonder
  20. If You Really Love Me - Stevie Wonder
  21. Never Dreamed You'd Leave In Summer - Stevie Wonder
  22. Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You) - Stevie Wonder
  23. I Love Every Little Thing About You - Stevie Wonder
Disc 2:
  1. Superstition - Stevie Wonder
  2. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life - Stevie Wonder
  3. You And I - Stevie Wonder
  4. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever) - Stevie Wonder
  5. Too High - Stevie Wonder
  6. Visions - Stevie Wonder
  7. Living For The City - Stevie Wonder
  8. Golden Lady - Stevie Wonder
  9. Higher Ground - Stevie Wonder
  10. All In Love Is Fair - Stevie Wonder
  11. Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing - Stevie Wonder
  12. He's Misstra Know It All - Stevie Wonder
  13. You Haven't Done Nothin' - Stevie Wonder
  14. Heaven Is 10 Zillion Light Years Away - Stevie Wonder
  15. Too Shy to Say - Stevie Wonder
  16. Boogie On Reggae Woman - Stevie Wonder
  17. Creepin' - Stevie Wonder
Disc 3:
  1. Sir Duke
  2. I Wish
  3. Knocks Me Off My Feet
  4. Pastime Paradise
  5. Isn't She Lovely
  6. Ngiculela-Es Una Historia-I Am Singing
  7. If It's Magic
  8. As
  9. Another Star
  10. Send One Your Love
  11. All I Do
  12. Rocket Love
  13. I Ain't Gonna Stand For It
  14. Master Blaster (Jammin')
  15. Lately
  16. Happy Birthday
  17. Sir Duke
  18. I Wish
  19. Knocks Me off My Feet
  20. Pastime Paradise
  21. Isn't She Lovely
  22. Ngiculela-Es Una Historia-I Am Singing
  23. If It's Magic
Disc 4:
  1. That Girl
  2. Ribbon In The Sky
  3. Do I Do
  4. Love Light In Flight
  5. I Just Called To Say I Love You
  6. Overjoyed
  7. Part-Time Lover
  8. Go Home
  9. You Will Know
  10. Skeletons
  11. Gotta Have You
  12. These Three Words
  13. For Your Love
  14. How Come, How Long
  15. That Girl
  16. Ribbon in the Sky
  17. Do I Do
  18. Love Light in Flight
  19. I Just Called to Say I Love You
  20. Overjoyed
  21. Part-Time Lover
  22. Go Home
  23. You Will Know
  24. Skeletons
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
Finally there's a boxed set that covers his ENTIRE career with 70 tracks drawn from singles, soundtracks and 20 albums. Notes, photos and a discography, too! Includes Fingertips Parts 1 & 2; Uptight (Everything's Alright); Blowin' in the Wind; A Place in the Sun; Shoo-Be-Doo-Be-Doo-Da-Day; For Once in My Life; My Cherie Amour; Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday; Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours; If You Really Love Me; Superstition; You Are the Sunshine of My Life; Higher Ground; Living for the City; Master Blaster (Jammin'); I Just Called to Say I Love You every Top 10 hit!
At the Close of a Century may seem a rather portentous title for a box set, even one showcasing the work of such a formidable writer-performer as Stevie Wonder. Consider, though, that these discs appear a few months before Wonder's 50th birthday and that he's already spent 36 years making records; he has more right than most to get a little highfalutin when invoking temporal milestones. Despite various retrospectives over the years, Close is the first to cover the arc of Wonder's entire career. By the end of the first disc we've heard his early Motown hits and watched him develop into the masterful artist who'd go on to stack up landmark album after landmark album in the '70s. (Aretha Franklin's Wonder-penned hit "Until You Come Back to Me" is here in a rare version by the composer.) The string of LPs from Talking Book (1972) to Hotter Than July (1980) provides gem after gem on the two middle CDs--with all of 1973's Innervisions save one cut represented--while post-"Master Blaster" winners such as "That Girl" and "Overjoyed" are the meat of the final disc. Add a smart booklet of essays, photos, and a discography, and this handsome package starts to look like a sharp addition to the collections of even hard-core Stevie buffs. --Rickey Wright

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games