Ellington At Newport 1956
 : Ellington At Newport 1956

variant image

by: Duke Ellington

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Price: $14.99
as of 01/23/2018 11:56 EST

This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0074646493229
Feature: Sony Legacy
Format: Original recording remastered, Live
Item Dimensions: 3157545500
Label: Sony Legacy
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Sony Legacy
Model: 2012245
MPN: 1694099
Number Of Discs: 2
Number Of Items: 2
Publication Date: May 11, 1999
Publisher: Sony Legacy
Release Date: May 11, 1999
Running Time: 129 minutes
Studio: Sony Legacy

  • Sony Legacy

Disc 1:
  1. The Star Spangled Banner
  2. Father Norman O'Connor Introduces Duke & The Orchestra / Duke Introduces Tune & Anderson, Jackson, & Procope
  3. Black and Tan Fantasy
  4. Duke Introduces Cook & Tune
  5. Tea for Two
  6. Duke & Band Leave Stage / Father Norman O'Connor Talks About the Festival
  7. Take the "A" Train
  8. Duke Announces Strayhorn's A Train & Nance Duke Introduces Festival Suite, Pt. I & Hamilton
  9. Pt. I-Festival Junction
  10. Duke Announces Soloists / Introduces Pt. II
  11. Pt. II-Blues to Be There
  12. Duke Announces Nance & Procope / Introduces Pt. III
  13. Pt. III-Newport Up
  14. Duke Announces Hamilton, Gonsalves, & Terry / Duke Introduces Carney & Tune
  15. Sophisticated Lady
  16. Duke Announces Grissom & Tune
  17. Day In, Day Out
  18. Duke Introduce Tune(s) and Paul Gonsalves Interludes
  19. Diminuendo In Blue
  20. Announcements, Pandemonium
  21. Pause Track - Miles Davis
Disc 2:
  1. Duke Introduces Johnny Hodges
  2. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  3. Jeep's Blues
  4. Duke Calms Crowd, Introduces Nance & Tune
  5. Tulip or Turnip
  6. Riot Prevention
  7. Skin Deep
  8. Mood Indigo
  9. Studio Concert
  10. Father Norman O'Connor Introduces Duke Ellington / Duke Introduces New Work, Pt. I, & Hamilton
  11. Pt. I-Festival Junction
  12. Duke Announces Soloists / Introduces Pt. II
  13. Pt. II-Blues to Be There
  14. Duke Announces Nance & Procope / Introduces Pt. III
  15. Pt. III-Newport Up
  16. Duke Announces Hamilton, Gonsalves, & Terry / Duke Introduces Johnny Hodges
  17. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  18. Jeep's Blues
  19. Pause Track
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
Due to bad mike placement on stage, the original "live" album was actually a studio re-creation; the actual live performance was never issued-until now. This 2-CD set contains the complete original album and the hour-plus concert . More than 100 minutes of new music, and the whole thing's in stereo for the first time!
When Duke Ellington took his orchestra to the Newport Jazz Festival in 1956, the band was in need of an uplift, some humongous event that would revitalize its image in the wake of bebop, hard bop, and so many more jazz currents. Ellington got the lift he needed when he called "Diminuendo in Blue" with set-closer "Crescendo in Blue" tacked on the end. Tenor saxophonist Paul Gonsalves got the nod from Ellington to segue from "Diminuendo" to "Crescendo," and he blew doors. With one rousing 27-chorus solo, Gonsalves blew a fever into the crowd and jump-started Ellingtonia for another generation. Trouble with all this is that the living document of the Newport show is almost fully manufactured, recorded in a studio with crowd madness dubbed in. So this two-CD historical correction is an awesome addition to the centennial-era reissues on Columbia (including Anatomy of a Murder, Such Sweet Thunder, First Time: Count Meets the Duke, and Black, Brown and Beige). The producers revisited the Newport gig after four decades because they discovered an extant Voice of America tape--the one whose microphone Gonsalves blew his solo into, and the VOA tape catches the whole Newport set in its organic glory. Alternately tender with layers of brushstroke orchestration and blazing with the band's well-seasoned tightness, this new Newport is one for the generalist and the Ellington completist. It's got the revived original gig as well as the original commercial release. And they make great siblings, illustrative of the live-event charm and the music industry's dogged labors in reinventing it on record. --Andrew Bartlett

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games