Steve Reich 1965-1995
 : Steve Reich 1965-1995

variant image variant image

by: Pat Metheny

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0075597945126
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 350550191525
Label: Nonesuch
Manufacturer: Nonesuch
MPN: AManPro-0032518
Number Of Discs: 10
Number Of Items: 10
Publication Date: June 03, 1997
Publisher: Nonesuch
Release Date: June 03, 1997
Studio: Nonesuch

Disc 1:
  1. Come Out
  2. Piano Phase
  3. It's Gonna Rain, Part I
  4. It's Gonna Rain, Part II
  5. Four Organs
Disc 10:
  1. Proverb
  2. Nagoya Marimbas
  3. City Life: 'Check It Out'
  4. City Life: Pile Driver - alarms
  5. City Life: 'It's Been A Honeymoon - Can't Take No Mo'
  6. City Life: Heartbeats - Boats & Buoys
  7. City Life: 'Heavy Smoke'
Disc 2:
  1. Part 1
  2. Part 2
  3. Part 3
  4. Part 4
Disc 3:
  1. Music For Mallet Instruments, Voices And Organ
  2. Clapping Music
  3. Six Marimbas
Disc 4:
  1. Music For 18 Musicians: Pulses
  2. Music For 18 Musicians: Section I
  3. Music For 18 Musicians: Section II
  4. Music For 18 Musicians: Section IIIA
  5. Music For 18 Musicians: Section IIIB
  6. Music For 18 Musicians: Section IV
  7. Music For 18 Musicians: Section V
  8. Music For 18 Musicians: Sectionn VI
  9. Music For 18 Musicians: Section VII
  10. Music For 18 Musicians: Section VIII
  11. Music For 18 Musicians: Section IX
  12. Music For 18 Musicians: Section X
  13. Music For 18 Musicians: Section XI
  14. Music For 18 Musicians: Pulses
Disc 5:
  1. Eight Lines
  2. Tehillim: Part 1: Fast
  3. Tehillim: Part 2: Fast
  4. Tehillim: Part 3: Slow
  5. Tehillim: Part 4: Fast
Disc 6:
  1. The Desert Music: First Movement
  2. The Desert Music: Second Movement
  3. The Desert Music: Third Movement, Part One
  4. The Desert Music: Third Movement, Part Two
  5. The Desert Music: Third Movement, Part Three
  6. The Desert Music: Fourth Movement
  7. The Desert Music: Fifth Movement
Disc 7:
  1. Works: New York Counterpoinnt: Fast
  2. Works: New York Counterpoint: Slow
  3. Works: New York Counterpoint: Fast
  4. Works: Sextet: 1st Movement
  5. Works: Sextet: 2nd Movement
  6. Works: Sextet: 3rd Movement
  7. Works: Sextet: 4th Movement
  8. Works: Sextet: 5th Movement
  9. Works: I. Strings
  10. Works: II. Percussion
  11. Works: III. Winds And Brass
  12. Works: IV. Full Orchestra
Disc 8:
  1. Works: Different Trains - America - Before The War
  2. Works: Different Trains - Europe - During The War
  3. Works: Different Trains - After The War
  4. Works: Electric Counterpoint - Fast
  5. Works: Electric Counterpoint - Slow
  6. Works: Electric Counterpoint - Fast
  7. Works: Movement I
  8. Works: Movement II
  9. Works: Movement III
Disc 9:
  1. The Cave: Typing Music
  2. The Cave: Who Is Abraham?
  3. The Cave: Who Is Ishmael?
  4. The Cave: Genesis XVIII
  5. The Cave: Genesis XXI
  6. The Cave: The Casting Out Of Ishmael And Hager
  7. The Cave: Machpelah
  8. The Cave: Genesis XXV
  9. The Cave: Interior Of The Cave
  10. The Cave: Surah 3
  11. The Cave: El Khalil Commentary
  12. The Cave: Who Is Abraham?W
  13. The Cave: Who Is Sarah?
  14. The Cave: Who Is Hagar?
  15. The Cave: Who Is Ishmael?
  16. The Cave: The Binding Of Isaac
  17. The Cave: The Cave Of Machpelah
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:
In the afterglow of his 60th birthday in 1997, Nonesuch Records delivered Steve Reich and his listeners an immense gift, this 10-CD retrospective of his work for the label, extending from his earliest tape-manipulation pieces to his most recent compositions utilizing samplers and the video artistry of Beryl Korot. Aside from the ear's liquid sense-making when it hears the dense and limber marimbas of Reich's Six Marimbas or his taut, dizzying Piano Phase, there is a physical response almost inevitable in Reich's music. It stuns and holds you. And he knows it. It's Gonna Rain struck an early chord of inventiveness, featuring an African American Pentecostal preacher's sermon and eventually spinning the title phrase into a jangling repetition of single words. Percussion works abound here: Clapping and Drumming stun with their deceptive similarity and warm clarity. Perennial favorite Piano Phase features pianists Nurit Tilles and Eduard Neumann synched up on two pianos and careening at full tilt in unison before their four hands fall out of time and phrase with each other, only to realign in a powerful swooping demonstration of energy and focus. The latter CDs hold abundant delights, many revealing Reich's late-discovered spiritualism and Judaica: Different Trains' examination of the Holocaust; Tehillim's shimmering Hebrew texts sung with fascinating choral power; Proverb's invocation of Perotin. Closing the set are recent pieces: Nagoya Marimbas, and the sampler-rich City Life and The Cave. --Andrew Bartlett

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games