Guys and Dolls (1995 Studio Cast) (First Complete Recording)
 : Guys and Dolls (1995 Studio Cast) (First Complete Recording)

by: Various Artists, Emily Loesser, Gregg Edelman, Kim Criswell, Tim Flavin, Don Stephenson

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0605288129421
Format: Cast Recording
Item Dimensions: 10050024575
Label: Jay Records
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Jay Records
Number Of Discs: 2
Number Of Items: 2
Publication Date: June 18, 1996
Publisher: Jay Records
Release Date: June 18, 1996
Studio: Jay Records

Disc 1:
  1. Act One: Overture - NSO/John Owens Edwards
  2. Act One: Runyonland - NSO/John Owens Edwards
  3. Act One: Fugue For Tinhorns - Don Stephenson/David Green/Nicolas Colicos
  4. Act One: Follow The Fold - Emily Loesser/Brian Greene
  5. Act One: The Oldest Established - Tim Flavin/Don Stephenson/David Green/Bates
  6. Act One: I'll Know - Emily Loesser/Gregg Edelman
  7. Act One: A Bushel And A Peck - Kim Criswell
  8. Act One: Adelaide's Lament - Kim Criswell
  9. Act One: Guys And Dolls - Don Stephenson/David Green
  10. Act One: Havana - NSO/John Owens Edwards/Emily Loesser/Gregg Edelman
  11. Act One: If I Were A Bell - Emily Loesser/Gregg Edelman
  12. Act One: My Time Of Day/I've Never Been In Love Before - Gregg Edelman/Emily Loesser
  13. Act One: Finale Act One - Gregg Edelman/Emily Loesser
Disc 2:
  1. Act Two: Entr'acte - NSO/John Owens Edwards
  2. Act Two: Take Back Your Mink - Kim Criswell
  3. Act Two: Adelaide's Second Lament - Kim Criswell
  4. Act Two: More I Cannot Wish You - Brian Greene/Emily Loesser
  5. Act Two: The Crapshooter's Dance - NSO/John Owens Edwards
  6. Act Two: Luck Be A Lady - Gregg Edelman
  7. Act Two: Sue Me - Kim Criswell/Tim Flavin
  8. Act Two: Sit Down, You're Rockin' The Boat - Don Stephenson/Katrina Murphy
  9. Act Two: Adelaide Meets Sarah - Emily Loesser/Kim Criswell
  10. Act Two: Marry The Man Today - Kim Criswell/Emily Loesser
  11. Act Two: The Happy Ending/Guys And Dolls - Pam Baxter/Lynton Black/Elaine Boxall/Karen Broughton/David Cavendish/Nicolas Colicos...
  12. Bonus Track: A Woman In Love (From The Movie) - Gregg Edelman/Emily Loesser
  13. Bonus Track: Pet Me Poppa (From The Movie) - Kim Criswell
  14. Bonus Track: Adelaide (From The Movie) - Tim Flavin/Don Stephenson/David Green
  15. Bonus Track: Travelling Light (Cut From The Original Production) - Gregg Edelman/Tim Flavin
Related Items: Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:
Rich in humor, romance, and appealing characters, to say nothing of some of the most exuberant and lovingly crafted songs to be found in any show, Frank Loesser's Guys and Dolls is as close as you can get to a perfect musical. In the theatre, it's impossible not to get caught up in the swinging title song, the tender duets of reforming gangster Sky Masterson and mellowing Salvation Army missionary Sarah Brown ("I've Never Been In Love Before"), or the risqué nightclub set pieces and comic lamentations of the perennial fiancée, Miss Adelaide ("Take Back Your Mink"). Here, for a complete recording, the show springs to life in the studio thanks to some sympathetic performances and John Owen Edwards's taut conducting. Kim Criswell is an excellent Adelaide, funny and touching in her frustrated attempts to get Nathan down the aisle. Most poignant of all, Loesser's daughter Emily sings Sarah Brown's songs with a natural simplicity. They are well matched by Gregg Edelman and Tim Flavin as their respective beaux. It's a treat to hear, with the added bonus of songs written specially for the 1955 film. --Piers Ford

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games