Debussy: The Complete Works For Piano
 : Debussy: The Complete Works For Piano

variant image

from: Warner Classics

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0724356585522
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 4555044494
Label: Warner Classics
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Warner Classics
MPN: 72435 65855 22
Number Of Discs: 4
Number Of Items: 4
Publication Date: January 21, 1997
Publisher: Warner Classics
Release Date: January 21, 1997
Studio: Warner Classics

Disc 1:
  1. Préludes Book I: I. Danseuses de Delphes (Lent et grave) - Walter Gieseking
  2. Préludes Book I: II. Voiles (Modéré) - Walter Gieseking
  3. Préludes Book I: III. Le vent dans Ia plaine (Animé) - Walter Gieseking
  4. Préludes Book I: IV. Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir (Modéré) - Walter Gieseking
  5. Préludes Book I: V. Les collines d'Anacapri (Trés modéré) - Walter Gieseking
  6. Préludes Book I: VI. Des pas sur la neige (Triste et lent) - Walter Gieseking
  7. Préludes Book I: VII. Ce qu'a vu le vent d'Ouest (Animé et tumultueux) - Walter Gieseking
  8. Préludes Book I: VIII. La fille aux cheveux de lin (Trés calme et doucement expressif) - Walter Gieseking
  9. Préludes Book I: IX. La sérénade interrompue (Modérément animé) - Walter Gieseking
  10. Préludes Book I: X. La cathédrale engloutie (Profondément calme) - Walter Gieseking
  11. Préludes Book I: Xl. La danse de Puck (Capricieux et léger) - Walter Gieseking
  12. Préludes Book I: XII. Minstrels (Modéré) - Walter Gieseking
  13. Préludes Book II: I. Brouillards (Modéré) - Walter Gieseking
  14. Préludes Book II: II. Feuilles mortes (Lent et mélancolique) - Walter Gieseking
  15. Préludes Book II: III. La Puerta del Vino (Mouvement de Habanera) - Walter Gieseking
  16. Préludes Book II: IV. Les fées sont d'exquises danseuses (Rapide et léger) - Walter Gieseking
  17. Préludes Book II: V. Bruyéres (Calme) - Walter Gieseking
  18. Préludes Book II: VI. General Lavine - eccentric (Dans le style et le mouvement d'un Cakewalk) - Walter Gieseking
  19. Préludes Book II: VII. Le terrasse des audiences du clair de lune (Lent) - Walter Gieseking
  20. Préludes Book II: VIII. Ondine (Scherzando) - Walter Gieseking
  21. Préludes Book II: IX. Hommage à S. Pickwick, Esq., P.P.M.P.C. (Grave) - Walter Gieseking
  22. Préludes Book II: X. Canope (Trés calme et doucement triste) - Walter Gieseking
  23. Préludes Book II: XI. Les tierces alternées (Modérément animé) - Walter Gieseking
  24. Préludes Book II: XlI. Feux d'artifice (Modérément animé) - Walter Gieseking
Disc 2:
  1. Pour le piano: I. Prélude (Assez anime et tres rythme) - C. Debussy
  2. Pour le piano: II. Sarabande (Aved une elegance grave et lente) - C. Debussy
  3. Pour le piano: III. Toccata (Vif) - C. Debussy
  4. Estampes: I. Pagodes (Moderement anime) - C. Debussy
  5. Estampes: II. La soirée dans Grenade (Mouvement de Habanera) - C. Debussy
  6. Estampes: III. Jardins sous la pluie (Net et vif) - C. Debussy
  7. Images, Set I: I. Reflets dans l'eau (Andantino molto) - C. Debussy
  8. Images, Set I: II. Hommage à Rameau (Lent et grave) - C. Debussy
  9. Images, Set I: III. Mouvement (Anime) - C. Debussy
  10. Images, Set II: I. Cloches à travers les feuilles (Lent) - C. Debussy
  11. Images, Set II: II. Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut (Lent) - C. Debussy
  12. Images, Set II: III. Poissons d'or (Anime) - C. Debussy
  13. Children's Corner: I. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum (Moderement anime) - C. Debussy
  14. Children's Corner: II. Jimbo's Lullaby (Assez modere) - C. Debussy
  15. Children's Corner: III. Serenade for the Doll (Allegretto ma non troppo) - C. Debussy
  16. Children's Corner: IV. The Snow is Dancing (Moderement anime) - C. Debussy
  17. Children's Corner: X. The Little Shepherd (Tres modere) - C. Debussy
  18. Children's Corner: VI. Golliwogg's Cakewalk (Allegro giusto) - C. Debussy
Disc 3:
  1. 12 Etudes: I. Pour les cinq doigts (d'apres Monsieur Czerny) (Sagement) - C. Debussy
  2. 12 Etudes: II. Pour les tierces (Moderato, ma non troppo) - C. Debussy
  3. 12 Etudes: III. Pour les quartes (Andantino com moto) - C. Debussy
  4. 12 Etudes: IV. Pour les sixtes (Lento) - C. Debussy
  5. 12 Etudes: V. Pour les octaves (Joyeaux et emporte, librement rythme) - C. Debussy
  6. 12 Etudes: VI. Pour les huit doigts (Vivamente, molto leggiero e legato) - C. Debussy
  7. 12 Etudes: VII. Pour les degrés chromatiques (Scherzando, animato assai) - C. Debussy
  8. 12 Etudes: VIII. Pour les agréments (Lento, rubato e leggiero) - C. Debussy
  9. 12 Etudes: IX. Pour les notes répétées (Scherzando) - C. Debussy
  10. 12 Etudes: X. Pour les sonorités opposées (Modere, sans lenteur) - C. Debussy
  11. 12 Etudes: XI. Pour les arpèges composés (Dolce e lusingando) - C. Debussy
  12. 12 Etudes: XI. Pour les accords (Dedide, rythme, sans lourdeur) - C. Debussy
  13. Masques (Tres vif et fantasque) - C. Debussy
  14. D'un cahier d'esquisses (Tres lent-sans rigueur) - C. Debussy
  15. L'Isle joyeuse (Quasi una cadenza - Tempo : Modere et tres souple) - C. Debussy
  16. La plus que lente (Lent - Molto rubato con morbidezza) - C. Debussy
  17. Le petit negre (Cakewalk. Allegro giusto) - C. Debussy
  18. Berceuse heroique (Modere - sans lenteur) - C. Debussy
  19. Hommage à Haydn (Mouvement de Valse lente) - C. Debussy
Disc 4:
  1. Suite Bergamasque: I. Prélude (Moderato - tempo rubato) - C. Debussy
  2. Suite Bergamasque: II. Meneut (Andantino) - C. Debussy
  3. Suite Bergamasque: III. Clair de lune (Andante tres expressif) - C. Debussy
  4. Suite Bergamasque: IV. Passepied (Allegretto ma non troppo) - C. Debussy
  5. Danse bohémienne (Allegro) - C. Debussy
  6. Rêverie (Andantino sans lenteur) - C. Debussy
  7. Mazurka (Scherzando - assez anime) - C. Debussy
  8. Valse romantique (Tempo di valse - Allegro moderato) - C. Debussy
  9. Deux Arabesques: I. Andantino con moto - C. Debussy
  10. Deux Arabesques: II. Allegretto scherzando - C. Debussy
  11. Nocturne en re bemol majeur - in D flat - Des-dur - C. Debussy
  12. Danse (Tarentelle styrienne) (Allegretto) - C. Debussy
  13. Ballade (Andantino con moto) - C. Debussy
  14. Fantaisie For Piano And Orchestra: I. Andante - Allegro - C. Debussy
  15. Fantaisie For Piano And Orchestra: II. Lento e molto espressivo- - C. Debussy
  16. Fantaisie For Piano And Orchestra: III. Allegro molto - C. Debussy
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:
These classic performances belong in the collection of anyone who cares about Debussy's piano music. Walter Gieseking's career was a troubled one--his pandering to the Nazi party cast a shadow over his last years, but the greatest irony of all was that this German nationalist turned out to be the greatest exponent of French music of his era. His Debussy playing marries an effortlessly subtle control of the keyboard to a real sense of fantasy. The music truly shimmers in his hands, and despite the limited range of the mono recording, the ear quickly adjusts. This is, in short, one of those classic recordings that critics and music lovers have enjoyed for nearly 50 years. So should you. --David Hurwitz

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games