The Essential Etta James
 : The Essential Etta James

variant image

by: Etta James

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0076732934128
Item Dimensions: 20050039575
Label: Chess / MCA
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Chess / MCA
MPN: 329341
Number Of Discs: 2
Number Of Items: 2
Publication Date: June 08, 1993
Publisher: Chess / MCA
Release Date: June 08, 1993
Studio: Chess / MCA

Disc 1:
  1. All I Could Do Is Cry
  2. My Dearest Darling
  3. If I Can't Have You
  4. A Sunday Kind Of Love
  5. Anything To Say You're Mine
  6. At Last
  7. Seven Day Fool
  8. Trust In Me
  9. Don't Cry Baby
  10. Fool That I Am
  11. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
  12. Waiting For Charlie (To Come Home)
  13. Something's Got A Hold On Me
  14. Next Door To The Blues
  15. These Foolish Things
  16. Stop The Wedding
  17. Prisoner Of Love
  18. Pushover
  19. Would It Make Any Difference To You
  20. Pay Back
  21. Two Sides To Every Story
  22. Baby What You Want Me To Do (Live)
Disc 2:
  1. In The Basement, Part 1
  2. Loving You More Every Day
  3. Do I Make Myself Clear
  4. I Prefer You
  5. It Must Be Your Love
  6. 842-3089 (Call My Name)
  7. I'd Rather Go Blind
  8. Tell Mama
  9. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
  10. Security
  11. Almost Persuaded
  12. You Got It
  13. Miss Pitiful
  14. Losers Weepers, Part 1
  15. W.O.M.A.N.
  16. I Never Meant To Love Him
  17. You Can Leave Your Hat On
  18. God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)
  19. All The Way Down
  20. Lovin' Arms
  21. Feelin' Uneasy
  22. Let's Burn Down The Cornfield
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
These 44 cuts (with booklet) trace her entire career with Chess, from the early, pop-flavored ballads to the gritty, Muscle Shoals material. Includes Tell Mama; Pushover; All I Could Do Was Cry; Fool That I Am; Stop the Wedding; Security , and more.
Etta James is the dues-paying blues mama. Throughout her tragic and storied career, Miss Peaches has successfully delivered her growling soul and soaring vocals to everything from Chicago blues to pop. Her voice is one of the most distinctive in the entire blues canon and The Essential Etta James captures it in its prime; 44 tracks cover her best Chess Records work from 1960 to the early '70s. And though her early R&B hits for Modern like "Roll with Me Henry" are not here, just about everything else is: the supreme balladry of "All I Could Do Was Cry" and "At Last," the sassy bump of "Seven-Day Fool" and "Pushover," the raucous soul of "In the Basement," and even bell-bottomed funk of "All the Way Down." But the finest evidence of James's versatility can be heard in her outstanding Memphis soul covers of "Tell Mama" and "Security." There's a lot of Etta James out there, but this is likely the best compilation of her work you're going to find. --Ken Hohman

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games