Howlin Wolf: The Chess Box
 : Howlin Wolf: The Chess Box

by: Howlin' Wolf

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
EAN: 0076732933220
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 100500169550
Label: Chess
Languages: EnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Chess
MPN: 329332
Number Of Discs: 3
Number Of Items: 3
Publication Date: November 26, 1991
Publisher: Chess
Release Date: November 12, 1991
Studio: Chess

Disc 1:
  1. Moanin' At Midnight
  2. How Many More Years
  3. Howlin' Wolf Boogie
  4. Wolf Is At Your Door
  5. Mr. Highway Man
  6. Howlin' Wolf Talks #1
  7. Bluebird
  8. Saddle My Pony
  9. That's All Right (Well)
  10. My Last Affair
  11. Just My Kind
  12. Work For Your Money
  13. Mama Died and Left Me
  14. All Night Boogie (All Night Long)
  15. Streamline Woman
  16. Crazy About You Baby
  17. You Gonna Wreck My Life
  18. Neighbors
  19. Howlin' Wolf Talks #2
  20. I'm The Wolf
  21. Rockin' Daddy
  22. Baby How Long
  23. Evil
  24. I'll Be Around
  25. Forty-four
  26. Who Will Be Next
Disc 2:
  1. Don't Mess With My Baby
  2. Smokestack Lightning
  3. You Can't Be Beat
  4. Howlin' Wolf Talks #3
  5. I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
  6. The Natchez Burnin'
  7. Who's Been Talkin'?
  8. Tell Me What I've Done
  9. Sittin' On Top Of The World
  10. I Didn't Know
  11. Moanin' For My Baby
  12. Change My Way
  13. I Better Go Now
  14. Howlin' For My Darling
  15. I've Been Abused
  16. Mr. Airplane Man (Alt. Take)
  17. Wang Dang Doodle
  18. Back Door Man
  19. Howlin' Wolf Talks #4
  20. Spoonful
  21. Down In The Bottom
  22. Shake For Me
  23. The Red Rooster
  24. You'll Be Mine
  25. Just Like I Treat You
  26. I Ain't Superstitious
  27. Goin' Down Slow
  28. Tail Dragger
Disc 3:
  1. Hidden Charms
  2. Three Hundred Pounds Of Joy
  3. Built For Comfort
  4. Love Me Darlin'
  5. Killin' Floor
  6. My Country Sugar Mama
  7. Louise
  8. I Walked From Dallas
  9. Tell Me What I've Done
  10. Don't Laugh At Me
  11. Ooh Baby (Hold Me)
  12. New Crawlin' King Snake
  13. My Mind Is Ramblin'
  14. Commit A Crime
  15. Dust My Broom (I Believe I'll)
  16. I'm The Wolf (Acoustic)
  17. Ain't Goin' Down That Dirt Road
  18. Mary Sue
  19. Hard Luck
  20. The Red Rooster
  21. Moving
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
71 of the rawest Chicago blues ever recorded! Wolf's greatest sides from 1951-1973, including two previously unreleased acoustic tracks and never-before-heard interviews, and unreleased stereo versions of such classics as Spoonful and I Ain't Superstitious . Two sets of liner notes, too!
This is probably the best Wolf compilation there is in terms of comprehensiveness and digestibility. The problem with collecting the works of prolific artists is that there's so much material; fortunately, Chess made some good selections. Chronicling Howlin' Wolf's career from Memphis, through Chicago, and on into his later years. There are snippets of interviews, as well as the classic tracks you'd expect: "All Night Boogie", "Howlin' For My Darling", "Evil", "Forty Four", "Spoonful", and "I'd Better Go Now." This box set is a bit much to swallow if you're not already a fan of the Wolf, but if you are, this is a great way to get his best work in one place. --Genevieve Williams

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games