In a Word: Yes (1969 - )
 : In a Word: Yes (1969 - )

variant image

by: Yes

Audience Rating: NR (Not Rated)
Binding: Audio CD
Brand: Rhino
EAN: 0081227818623
Format: Box set
Item Dimensions: 1251025145575
Label: Elektra / Wea
Languages: EnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Elektra / Wea
MPN: 081227818623
Number Of Discs: 5
Number Of Items: 5
Publisher: Elektra / Wea
Release Date: July 30, 2002
Running Time: 400 minutes
Studio: Elektra / Wea

Disc 1:
  1. Every Little Thing
  2. Sweetness
  3. Survival
  4. Then
  5. Sweet Dreams
  6. Astral Traveller
  7. Time And A Word
  8. Dear Father
  9. Yours Is No Disgrace
  10. Clap
  11. Perpetual Change
  12. Starship Trooper
  13. I've Seen All Good People
Disc 2:
  1. Roundabout
  2. South Side Of The Sky
  3. Heart Of The Sunrise
  4. America
  5. Close To The Edge
  6. The Revealing Science Of God
Disc 3:
  1. Siberian Khatru
  2. Long Distance Runaround
  3. The Gates Of Delirium
  4. To Be Over
  5. Going For The One
  6. Turn Of The Century
  7. Wonderous Stories
  8. Don't Kill The Whale
  9. Release, Release
  10. Arriving UFO
  11. Richard
Disc 4:
  1. Tango
  2. Never Done Before
  3. Crossfire
  4. Machine Messiah
  5. Tempus Fugit
  6. Owner Of A Lonely Heart
  7. It Can Happen
  8. Leave It
  9. Hold On
  10. Rhythm Of Love
  11. Love Will Find A Way
  12. Holy Lamb (Song For Harmonic Convergence)
  13. Brother Of Mine - Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, Howe
  14. Fist Of Fire (alternate version) - Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, Howe
  15. I Would Have Waited Forever
Disc 5:
  1. Lift Me Up
  2. The Calling
  3. I Am Waiting
  4. Mind Drive
  5. Open Your Eyes
  6. Universal Garden
  7. Homeworld (The Ladder)
  8. The Messenger
  9. Last Train
  10. In The Presence Of
Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display

Editorial Review:

Product Description:
The most comprehensive Yes collection ever assembled. 55 tracks on 5 CDs including 'Roundabout', 'Long Distance Runaround', 'Owner Of A Lonely Heart', 'Love Will Find A Way' plus 6 previously unreleased tracks! Features impeccable new mastering, rare phot
Like the prog-rock movement that spawned them, the band name Yes was only supposed to be temporary. But Yes have long outlived prog, spanning five decades, some 14 members, and, at one point, essentially two separate outfits on opposite sides of the Atlantic. This five-disc box set chronicles the musical high points of one of the most successful, if unlikely, careers in all of rock. While contemporaries like ELP and King Crimson often distilled their jazz, classical, or avant-garde influences into potent, often jagged sonic shards, Yes thrived by infusing influences as diverse as Stravinsky, Lennon and McCartney, traditional jazz, the Fifth Dimension, and Paul Simon with their own restless, endlessly ambitious musicianship, then letting them simmer into musical landscapes often as vast as they were lyrically impenetrable. All the band's early staples are here ("Yours Is No Disgrace," "Starship Trooper," "I've Seen All Good People," "Roundabout") along with intact swatches of the epics Close to the Edge, Tales from Topographic Oceans and Relayer. But the later chapters are equally rewarding: the improbable 1980 replacement of departed Jon Anderson and Rick Wakeman by the Buggles' Trevor Horn and Geoff Downs on Drama; the return of Anderson (with Horn and and new guitarist Trevor Rabin sharing producer's duties) for the surprising, megaplatinum success of 90125 and its chart-topping "Owner of a Lonely Heart"; rewarding, diverse '90s outings like Talk and The Ladder. It's a compelling musical vision that's almost utopian, sprinkled with a half-dozen previously unreleased tracks and the epic 1972 reworking of Paul Simon's "America." Chris Welch and Bill Martin's comprehensive and insightful notes are introduced by film director and longtime Yes fan Cameron Crowe, who reminisces about his early days writing about the band. –Jerry McCulley

Average Rating: none

Home | Reviews | Artists | Video | Shop | Links | Contact Us | Cozmik Toys | Indigo Tunes | Taliesin Records | In Association With |
Copyright 2010-2014 CD Maximum
CD Maximum Metal and Rock Video
    View Cart / Checkout  
    Hobby Shop  
    Kitchen & House  
    Musical Instruments  
    Office Products  
    Outdoor Living  
    Sporting Goods  
    Studio Equipment  
    Tools & Equipment  
    Video Games